First of all, this post seems completely irrelevant now that the RNC has been over for like a week, but bare with me. Gigi was ill last week and was distracted by her barking grown male seal cough and making sure she was still breathing. She's all good now, though, so I am back to serious, important business (like this blog).
Okay, here goes:
I promised to never discuss anything of substance on this blog but I am going to talk politics on this. I know, already breaking my promise. But, don't worry, this is nothing that will make you think too much.
Well, we spent last week's nights watching the RNC. Let me get one thing clear, I am pretty much about as well educated on policy as Gigi. But, I think Mitt Romney is a hoot and Paul Ryan kind of looks like those little plastic animal dolls with the big droopy eyes that looks at you like, "please cuddle with me or give me some meow mix". Cute and creepy at the same time. Again, the majority of Matt and I's political convos are over things like the "scope of executive power" and if Bush decided to grow a mustache, could any one stop him? True story. Matthew asked me that a few years ago. I told him he was an idiot. But like my recent coming of age life changing decisions, like retiring certain articles of clothing, I figured it is time for me to become informed... So we watched.
Unfortunately, it quickly became difficult to listen to the substance as soon as Condie Rice came on and started talking. Matthew was spellbound. It was like love at first sight. He listened to her and maybe even shed a tear. In fact, he claims that he started crying twice because he was so proud of her. He kept saying with those sappy, puppy love eyes like Paul Ryan's, "she is just the most amazing person in the world". He then proceeded to start running around the house chanting, USA... and went to the front yard and saluted the flag. I thought he was going to turn on "Proud to be an American" and make us all go out there and salute while the ENTIRE song played like he did when we first got the flag and made us salute every time we left the house or came home. I was frightened. Gigi joined in and clapped some, although she seemed way more into Santorum. After seeing this epic display of patriotism, I came to the conclusion that Matthew was going to leave me for Condie. Like seriously. He is in love. And, you know, I could never measure up to that amazing woman. I think I have a crush on her too. I think she speaks like 20 languages and plays the piano like as well as Mozart or something. She rocks. I know that. But, at this point in time, I am really hoping she never comes to SAtown to give a speech b/c my husband would totally rush the stage screaming "Condie, I love you" and get tackled to the ground by Secret Service.
So, if you ever hear that she is coming into town, please let me know so I can make sure we are out of town.
PS- Don't worry. I am watching the DNC too. As a mature adult, I am listening to both sides. Problem is, they all kind of just talk and I am not really sure what anyone of them really want to do or WILL do. Anyone else think they all sound good and smart and wished they would just gather around the campfire and sing "Kumbaya" with rainbows and unicorns in the background (while toasting smores) and figure it out together?
No comments:
Post a Comment